Team Building

Team Building

echappetoi_teamb

– Premise –

Allright, that’s been a pretty long time since I blogged anything. Obviously, my goal is not to force myself to write anything anyway but when you don’t have any idea… I was in a three weeks trip to Belgium, in Gent actually, to work closer with my colleagues at Larian.

I’m leaving Belgium and then it just reminded me all the different trips I had in my career to meet the people I was working with from a distance. Every time was a super great experience and even if that was never really the goal, it all came to the same thing for me: Team Building.

– The Importance of Chemistry –

Like I said in my article about how Ubisoft was great, I traveled a few in my career. I’ve travelled for a lot of different reasons like having a training, a workshop, a course, getting involved in the tech creation, teaching people something and other things. Every time though, I really felt like it was more than that.

It was more than that because I was building stronger bonds with the people I used to write to on different chat software or people I used to call during work without knowing them.

Like I use to say a lot, “You never know someone until you get drunk with him/her”.

Every time I travelled I built chemistry with people. Not all of them, obviously. I didn’t had the opportunity to have a drink or go out with everyone I met but still, I have met and had fun with a lot of people around the world.

I find strong bonds or chemistry between people really important because, when you know someone, when you’ve speak with that person a lot, it helps a lot regarding communication. Speaking to someone you don’t know at all, someone you never saw in your life can be awkward at first. You don’t know how a person will react or whatever. It’s even worse when you have to write to them, there’s no emotion in a text. It’s totally different when you’ve met that person in real life. It’s even better if you were able to meet that person outside of work!

We all judge people of first impression. But you never know if you wrote to a person during he/she had a bad day. Maybe a person wrote to you when you had a bad day and you acted like an idiot because you were not feeling well.

I met a lot of people in my career that I was sure were complete retards at first but then, after meeting them in real life I realized that it was the total opposite!

– Do Something –

Yeah.

Do something! Go out with people. Have a drink with them. Go eat somewhere. Do whatever that can fit your and their tastes.

When I was a lead at Ubisoft, I really loved planning activities with my team. I knew it would help a lot during those crazy crunch days at some point. I knew that since people had fun with each other, that they became friends, that they shared stories and what not that it would help to do and say things right when the time would come.

You will always have these people who don’t want to get along. These people who will never go out. Maybe they can’t because they have kids for example, or maybe they just don’t want to. That’s ok. You may be able to get them out once and they’ll have a great time. But still, the important thing here is to create strong bonds with your team. Create stories that you’ll be able to share a few years later.

“You remember that time we got shitfaced at that bar and you were so drunk you got woke up by the janitor at 4 am in the toilet?”

That kind of story.

You’ll laugh. You’ll remember the good times you had with the people you’re spending SO much hours with.

You spend 8 hours a day with the same people every day during years. You should probably know them a bit more than just their name right?

– Ending Notes –

I’m an extrovert person. I like to go out a lot and meet people. It’s not for everyone I know that. But I also met a lot of introvert people in my career that are super awesome and even if that took them every single drop of energy they had to come out, I was able to know more about them and I was able to communicate with them better after.

Like I said, there are also the people who just don’t want to make friends. They just want to work 8 hours a day and go home. That’s ok. Do what you can with the people who wants to.

When you can put a face and memories on a name it’s always better. When you have a problem at work and you have to poke that guy on the other side of the world you had a pretty nice party with the other day I can assure you everything will get along really faster.

Leave a Reply

